top of page

General Tips

Welcome!

From the experience that travel has given to me, I have set some rules every time I plan a trip, they have been very helpful and I want to share them.

1. Travel and plan without regret.

Enjoy the decisions you made, for something you took from the beginning, do not think about the mistakes or if you failed in any decision. You always learn from the mistakes and that's the best part. When it comes to discovering new places and even new ones, everything is uncertain, so don't feel that you have done wrong.

2. There is no guilt.

From time to time it crosses my mind if it is the best economic time to travel, every time I travel I want to bring the whole country back and if I don't have enough savings, I get a little frustrated. But then I remember that simply going, it will leave me a lot of learning and inspiration.

3. There are no perfect trips.

You can always do more or everything different, just enjoy all the moments.

4. Find a source of inspiration.

Did you read something impressive in a book? Did you see a movie that you remember fondly? I find it very entertaining and surprising to find the locations of my favorite movies.

5. Dare as long as you do not put yourself in danger.

Try everything that interests you, but do not ever think of going with an unknown person to an unknown site, enjoy the adventure but always with caution.

6. No regrets, do not doubt your decisions.

Enjoy all the emotions, even the nerves and buterflies in the stomach.

7. Do not let anyone take the decisions for you.

We all have opinions according to our own experiences, and many of us find easy to get into the decision of someone close to traveling, and of course, all suggestions are welcome but sometimes predispose you to situations that you haven't even considered. So take the information that you think is useful and discard the rest that could influence your own experience.

8. Identify your travel style.

Do you like landscapes? Do you like to eat? Do you like to go out at night? Do you like to relax? Would you like to discover as much as possible on your trip? Do you like to take your time and find the best scenarios for a picture ? Once you identify your travel style and your sources of inspiration, you can make an approximate itinerary. For my last trip I used My Maps from Google Maps (which is very helpful), I will share that theme later.

9. Travel experencies are not the same.

Avoid comparing with your own trips or with someone else's. Make any travel unique.

10. Take your budget into consideration.

When I count every penny I feel terrible, but I also worry about spending much more than the budget I consider for my trip, remember that there are also expenses in the return and it is not ideal to stress after a great trip.

11. Make a research.

About the weather and the place currency. There are places where it is necessary to carry cash because their system is different from yours or it is more convenient as a tourist to make payments in certain ways. And for the moment of packing, it is best to see what the weather will be like on the days of your stay, to avoid overloading and at the same time take what is necessary to protect from the weather. Always minimize the clothing, one of my favorite parts is to buy clothes in other countries, so I take it as a pretext.

12. Watch, catch sight of.

To appreciate everything and to know, not only the peculiarities of the place or its people, but also to learn. When you do not know how to carry out a certain action, just by watching you can leave doubts. Do not know what to do to pay for a subway ticket? Notice people and realize what they do, it has been one of the best easiest to learn for me.

13. Take the time to research and learn the basics of the place.

Behave like a grateful and respectful explore, learn the essentials words the basic manners the pedestrian regulations. I guarantee you that if you greet a local in their language, you will make the difference.

14. Use all the senses to enjoy the trip and to resolve possible troubles.

Issues are always going to exist, so even if you plan every minute of every day, the possiility to lose a subway ticket, not find your passport even if it is in front of our eyes, it is very possible and sometimes stress wins and can generate a bad experience. So use all your senses for when a difficulty arises. And as I said before, you always learn from mistakes and also leave good stories to tell.

15. Do you travel alone or accompanied?

The experiences are totally different, the freedom and the opportunity to share everything. Both are incredible and you have to be very clear about the situation, when traveling accompanied the nerve is placed in a more comfort zone, because the difficulties will be solved between more than one person, but at the time of the itineraries, you must understand that the time should be shared as well as activities and agreements should be reached. On the other hand, when you travel alone, the nerve is more constant, although it is compensated with the comfort of the freedom to decide what you want to do. Both are memorable experiences but they are subjects that you should take into consideration when planning your possible itinerary.

As I wrote before, these are rules that I have created for me, now is your chance to start with yours.

Do you have ideas that will help us for future trips? I want to hear you, do not hesitate to write me, share me or ask me hereonthewalk@gmail.com

Cheers.


Gallery
Follow me
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
bottom of page